Hang on Tight, its a wild ride!

Flat Tires and Midnights

BT Shirt artwork front

This week’s training has been weird. We went out for a nice ride one morning only for me to get a flat tire, which I fixed, on the road, only to have it go flat again about 4 miles later. A trip to the bike doctor revealed the sea shell that I picked up on the street and missed with the first flat change.

I’m working midnights this week; so training happens in the afternoons, and rides are shorter because of the boys coming home from school the need to get everyone where they need to be.

As I rode this afternoon I was thinking of how unprepared I feel for the upcoming ride as I haven’t been able to get the distances in that I hoped to during training, and all the things that still need to come together in the next 16 days. I realized that there is always cost in the things God calls us to; flat tires, tired muscles, bruised knees & shoulders, but it’s always so worth it in the end. I thought of the faces of the children who would be receiving shoe boxes this year. I thought the stories that have been shared of children walking for hours in order to get to a distribution. I thought of our National Leadership Teams and all they do to get the shoe boxes to the children.

We are in the process of contacting churches that we will be stopping at. We are still looking for prayer partners who will support us in prayer for each day that we ride. We’ve posted the routes on the Suffolk County Team Facebook Page, http://www.facebook.com/OCCSuffolkCountyNY, in the events page for the bike tour. We’d love to have anyone who wishes join us for a day, a few miles, whatever might work for your schedule.

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve set up a fundraising to page to raise $1400 dollars for shipping for 200 shoeboxes. As of today I am 30% of the way there. If you’d like to donate you can go to http://www.firstgiving.com/fundraiser/daniellemccarty/forktoforkbiketour, to do so.

Thanks for the prayers and encouragement that you are all giving.

It’s going to be CRAMAZING!

Hang on Tight,
Danielle

Leave a Reply

